GCMAS Councils

members.jpgThe Education Council is responsible for the solicitation and selection of instructional courses offered at the annual Society meeting. They are also responsible for the evaluation of the the annual meeting, and other educational endeavors undertaken by the Society. 

The Research Council is responsible for promoting, advancing, and supporting research in the field of movement analysis. 

The Standards Council is responsible for the development of standardized methods in clinical movement analysis including all aspects of data acquisition, reduction, utilization, interpretation, presentation, and communication. They also coordinate the use of the SAMSA (Standard Assessment of Motion System Accuracy) device. 

The Reimbursement Council is responsible for supporting the society's interests in gait analysis as a clinical tool, including the availability and maintenance of billing codes, as well as insurance reimbursement. They have drafted position statements on the use of gait analysis in several different patient populations. 

The Membership Council is responsible for overseeing new membership signups and annual membership renewals. The Council also implements membership initiatives and responsibly represents the needs of the membership before the Board of Directors. 

The Awards Council is responsible for the development and implementation of the Society awards system, designed to recognize outstanding individual and group achievements related to gait and human movement analysis in clinical and research settings. These include the Best Paper and Best Poster Awards at the annual conference, as well as the Kevin Granata Young Investigator Award

The Communications Council is responsible for developing and maintaining the society’s web page and email broadcast system, as well as managing other communication endeavors undertaken by the society. 

The Board of Directors appoints a Student Representative who represents the interests of the society's Student and Trainee members. 

A full list of the GCMAS Board of Directors, Council Chairs, and contact information for these individuals can be found here.

Do you like this page?